Log in

Minnesota Association of Financial Aid Administrators 

Legislative Task Force

The Legislative Task force is responsible for supporting a foundation of learning about MN State legislative procedures and activities for all MAFAA members. The task force is committed to providing various mediums of learning to cultivate an environment where MAFAA members feel encouraged and confident to learn and participate. The Legislative Task Force does not advance a political agenda. Instead, the goal of the task force is to increase accessibility to the MN State Legislature for financial aid administrators. 


2020-21 CommitTee Members

Anna Smith de Yoma - Legislative Liaison

What are we up to?

MAFAA Day at the Hill 

In collaboration with the Minnesota Association for College Admissions Counseling (MACAC), we are pleased to offer Day on the Hill. Due to COVID-19, this event has been moved to a two-day, virtual event. You will have the opportunity to meet with your MN legislators in small groups via Zoom and thank them for their support in funding financial aid programs in the State.

MAFAA’s Legislative Liaison will schedule legislative visits on your behalf based on your availability and representatives. We will give volunteers all relevant documents prior to the event, and we will train you.

Since this is our first virtual advocacy event, we strongly encourage those in greater MN who normally would not be able to participate in this event to attend this year! Having representation from each corner of the state will ensure the needs of all members are being advocated for in an effective way.


Tuesday, February 23 and Wednesday, February 24, 2021


Virtual (via Zoom), Register for Day on the Hill here


What is the time commitment required for this event?

The event takes place over two days, however, you may only have meetings scheduled on one day of the event. You will at maximum be scheduled for two legislative meetings which will be approximately 15-20 minutes long. In addition, you must attend an hour long training session where you will be provided information to prepare for the legislative meeting. Sign-ups for training sessions are forthcoming. Please note, if you plan to participate in the February 23rd NASFAA U event, you may indicate a preference for the 24th on the registration form.

I have never talked to a legislator; how do I prepare?

We will be holding training sessions to help our members feel prepared to meet with legislators. We will give you a basic overview of legislation, go over talking points and lastly provide an opportunity to have any remaining questions answered.

I cannot attend, but would like more information about how to connect with my representatives in the future.

Post-event I will be publishing some resources to encourage our members to reach out to their legislators on their own time. The legislature controls a huge portion of the work we do, so it is very important that they hear from us.

MORE QUESTIONS? Contact the event organizer.

MAFAA Legislative Liaison

Anna Smith de Yoma, University of St. Thomas

Upcoming events

Join today!

If our committee sounds interesting to you we would love to have you join us for the 2019-2020 year! Please contact bridget.johnson@anokaramsey.edu or jacquelynn.mol.sletten@state.mn.us
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software